Knitting, crocheting, and macrame are getting noticed by a new generation of crafters. These fun hobbies are a great way to relieve stress and make something from scratch. Whether you want to create handmade gifts or are looking to customize a scarf, blanket, or wall decor for your own family, textile crafts may be the way to go. As a beginner, I tried the We Are Knitters Medea Blanket Knitting Kit to see if I could get excited about this crafty hobby, too. I chose the Medea Blanket from We Are Knitters’ numerous kit options. They have everything from beginner knitting kits to crochet, latch hook, and weaving. You can also sort by skill level (My First Project, Beginner, Easy, Intermediate, Advanced, Kits for Kids), fiber (merifine, wool, baby alpaca, and others), garment style (beanies, sweaters, scarves, blankets, and others), or desired recipient (men, women, kids & babies, pets, and plus size). I went with the Medea Blanket because it looked cozy, was a relatively easy shape, and was recommended for beginners. Some projects require a specific kind of fiber. The Medea Blanket offers 32 color options in wool. I opted for mauve but honestly had trouble deciding from the wide variety of colors. Most are modern and earthy, which I love, but there will be a color option for every taste. The kit came with everything that I needed to complete the project from start to finish. This included all of the yarn (nine skeins), an instruction booklet, 15-millimeter circular knitting needles, and a cute tag. It also came with some cool branded SWAG, such as We Are Knitters stickers. I had never used any knitting needles before, but these were easy to master for a beginner. You can get the kit without needles included. If you are purchasing a second (or third or more) kit, you may already have the required needles. The pattern and instructions were easy to follow, with illustrated diagrams and written descriptions of each step. The Medea Blanket only requires two different kinds of stitches: the basic knitting stitch and the slip stitch. I did have to use We Are Knitters’ library of tutorial videos on the website. This resource is available even if you do not purchase a kit and includes a wide variety of techniques. You can also look through the free pattern guide on We Are Knitters’ website for future project ideas. It took me around two weeks of nightly knitting to finish my Medea Blanket. I worked for around an hour each evening, mostly because my hands were fatigued at the end of each session. If you have more time, you may be able to finish your project faster. I wasn’t in a rush and took my time to make sure that the tension in my stitches was even throughout the project. I also had to undo and redo a few rows when my counting got off. This likely wouldn’t happen to a more experienced knitter. The yarn was soft, but there was some variability in the yarn weight. It didn’t impact my project, and I actually liked the slight variation that showed up in the finished blanket. The color was rich and uniform, which was more important to me. At $185, the We Are Knitters Medea Blanket Knitting Kit is more expensive than a store-bought blanket or yarn and needles at a craft store. If you already know how to knit or are looking for an economical blanket, this may not be the best option for you. But as a newbie knitter who needed a little more handholding to take on my first project, the price was well worth the new skill I learned. When you add in that I also ended up with a cozy blanket, it was a great investment for me. I loved this project so much that I purchased additional knitting kits from We Are Knitters before I had finished the Medea blanket. One of my favorite things is that I learned a new skill that I feel confident I can apply to new projects. 

How many color options are there?

The Medea Blanket comes in 32 different yarn colors. It is a single-color project. Keep in mind that some colors, such as the confetti, hand-painted, or tie-dye options, do have an additional cost. Not all of the wool color options are always available. If you have your heart set on a particular color, reach out to the fantastic We Are Knitters customer support to see when it may be available in the future. Other We Are Knitters kits have options for different fiber types, colors, and multi-color designs.

Is this a good kit for knitting beginners?

Yes! I have never tried knitting before, and I was able to master both the knit and slip stitches using the online video tutorials. The included instructions may not be enough by themselves since it is helpful to see how the yarn actually moves over the needles with each stitch. Once you learn a few basic stitches, you might even be able to try a more complicated project from among We Are Knitters’ free patterns.

Can I reuse the materials?

Yes, I have already started a new project on my circular knitting needles from We Are Knitters. You can purchase additional yarn or other supplies (needles in various sizes) from We Are Knitters or from your local craft store.

We Are Knitters Kit, Medea Blanket vs. Stitch & Story Chunky Tassel Throw Knitting Kit

For another knitting kit option, look through the many kits offered by Stitch & Story, such as the Chunky Tassel Throw Knitting Kit. We Are Knitters had a wider variety of kits, but Stitch & Story has some collaborations with well-known brands such as Pusheen and Sophie La Girafe. The prices were comparable between the two kit companies (the Chunky Tassel Throw retails for around $162), and they both had great online support and community. Check out the kits and patterns on each to see what project looks interesting to you. If you want to develop a new hobby, you can’t go wrong with the We Are Knitters Medea Blanket Knitting Kit. It provides all the materials and instructions you need and is easy to complete. The community of knitters at We Are Knitters will roll you right into the “yarn ball.”